Stas Antropov

Thoughts on life, learning and software engineering

First Post

Posted at — Jul 28, 2020

I have decided to start a blog. Primarily, I want to follow the learn in public principle for a while and see if I like it. Also, every once in a while I come across an interesting thought or a book/article which I’d like to share.

I am building this with Hugo. I could use WordPress or Squarespace and get to writing posts in minutes instead of spending several hours on figuring out Hugo and Netlify. So - why Hugo? Partly becauseI love tinkering. Somehow, using a full-blown CMS is making writing less fun (and I am not alone in this).

Another reason is that I wanted to try out the JAMstack, deploy Hugo site on Netlify and do something new in the process. So far I’m liking Hugo a lot. It feels right: there is a solid balance between abstraction and access to implementation details. And Netlify is wonderful: push to Github and less than a minute later the site is built and published to a CDN. Awesomeness.

To be honest, I’m still kicking myself a little bit over spending so much time on technical minutae. But only a little.

PS: I’ve used the favicon generator from favicon.io and it rocks. Recommended.